Hello

017

Hello.

I look up. I see my surprised face in the mirror. Did someone just say “hello”?

I shrug. Maybe I heard wrong. This is an old place. Creaks and grumbles are part of the package. I rinse my toothbrush under the tap. Just as I turn it off…

Hello.

I spin around with my toothbrush in hand, as the hairs at the back of my neck slowly rises. Who the heck is that?

As far as I’m concerned, I’m the only one in the apartment. Would it be someone next door? Why would they say hello? It sounded like a man’s voice, not deep, not high. Could it be a peeping tom?

I inspect the wall of my bathroom. No holes.

Ugh. I don’t have time for this! I’m about to reach for my watch when I see… it.

A face on my hand. It opens its mouth.

Hello.

Leave a Reply

